Services Departments Government

Library District Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes

Date: Thursday; May 12, 2011


Attending: Penny Hummel, CA; Susan Nielsen, Doris Grolbert, CO; Kraig Bartel, ES; Judith Ervin, GL; Bill Baars, LO; Sandy Nelson, MO; Maureen Cole, OC; Mark Docken, MI; Maureen Cole, OC; George Hoyt, SA; Diane Satchwell, WL; Pat Duke, WV

Called to Order: Susan Nielsen, Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:34 p.m.

Approval of Minutes: Minutes of the February 10, 2011 meeting were M/S Bill Baars/Diane Satchwell. Motion carried.

Old Business: Doris Grolbert reported that six cities have signed the Damascus and Tualatin amendments. After all the Library Cities have passed the amendments it will be sent to Tualatin for passage.

New Business:
Allocated Costs: The Committee discussed allocated costs and the impact they will have on the Canby Library. The discussion included intent of the voters, the enforcement of the terms of the IGA, the impact this has on the success of the whole district, and the log term viability of libraries in the District. The Committee will investigate this issue further and consider options.
Thrift Book Bins: “Books for Charity” bins have been appearing in some cities in Clackamas County as well as other places in the United States. These bins indicate that the materials go to charities; however, the majority are sold or recycled. Libraries, in the areas where these bins appear, have seen a drop in donations of materials. These donations augment collections and help raise money for library programs. Ideas generated by the Committee include: Talking to Nan Hiem about legal options, Friends groups can write letters to the business where the bins are located, get an article in the local newspaper, check with the city to see if it is a code violation, and educate citizens not to use the bins.

Additional Agenda Items: Kraig Bartel asked for information on how foundations can raise money for a new library building. Kraig knows a foundation member of the Oregon City Library Foundation. Maureen Cole is also working on this process.

Pat Duke announced Steven Engelfried, Children’s Librarian, has been appointed as Chair of the Newbery Award committee.

Next Meeting: August 11, 2011 at 5:30 in the Network Office

Adjournment: Meeting was adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Submitted by Doris Grolbert

Share this page