Services Departments Government

From: Dylan Blaylock, Clackamas County Public & Government Affairs, 503-742-5917


Clackamas County

Media and Interested Parties

Application date extended for county nonfarm businesses to apply for federal disaster loans due to drought

Nonfarm businesses in nine Oregon counties are now eligible for assistance – including federal disaster loans – due to drought.

Clackamas County was among six Oregon counties designated as contiguous disaster areas last week by the Secretary of Agriculture. Similar declarations affecting Clackamas County nonfarm businesses were made twice during the summer.

The primary designated areas for this most recent declaration are Columbia, Washington and Yamhill counties. The contiguous counties are Clackamas, Clatsop, Marion, Multnomah, Polk and Tillamook counties in Oregon, and Clark, Cowlitz and Wahkiakum counties in Washington.

This designation means that small, nonfarm businesses in Clackamas County that suffered economic losses caused by the drought beginning on July 28 are now eligible for disaster loan assistance from the Small Business Administration (SBA). These loans became available with an agricultural disaster declaration by Secretary of Agriculture Thomas J. Vilsack last week.

Clackamas County businesses have eight months, until May 23 of next year, to apply for these emergency loans.

More information from the SBA can be found at

This development comes after two previous similar designations. For information on those, see

For more information, members of the media may contact Clackamas County Emergency Management Director Nancy Bush at 503-655-8665 or


Share this page