Download the complete PSTC class brochure! (783kb, PDF)
Class space is limited — pre-registration is required. All prices are subject to change without notice. We accept cash, check, Visa, and MasterCard.
Ammunition for all classes and clinics must be purchased from the Public Safety Training Center. All ammunition prices are subject to change without notice.
To sign up for a class or for more information, talk to staff members at the Clackamas County Public Safety Training Center (12700 SE 82nd Ave., Clackamas, Oregon 97015) or call us at 503-794-8065.
|Includes firearm, lane, ammo, targets, eye and ear protection. |
For reservations call 503-794-8065.
|DPSST Firearms Qualification Course for Retired Law Enforcement||The Clackamas County Sheriff’s Office is pleased to provide Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) Firearms Qualification Course(s) to retired law-enforcement officers, pursuant to the Law Enforcement Officers’ Safety Act of 2004 (HR 218).|
Retired Law Enforcement Officers who meet the necessary qualifications and wish to complete the HR 218 Qualification Course can contact the Public Safety Training Center (PSTC) at 503-794-8065 to make an appointment with a Range Training Officer. Please use the link below to review these qualifications. The PSTC does not allow any outside ammunition, and will provide ammunition for the qualification.
The 25 rounds of ammunition not used in the qualification can be used for practice, or retained to re-attempt if needed. In the event someone does not qualify on the first attempt, they may purchase an additional target for $1.00 (and ammunition if necessary) and attempt one additional qualification. Persons are limited to 2 qualification attempts per day. If a retiree does not qualify after two attempts, they will have to re-schedule for another day, and pay the qualification fee again.
Personal Concealed Carry: State of Oregon
|This 4-hour course is the starting point for educating yourself in firearms safety and defensive use of the handgun, and meets Oregon CHL requirements.
It will give you a better understanding of the handgun, its safe
handling and the law as it applies to its carriage and use in defending
yourself. Download flyer. (PDF)|
Personal Concealed Carry: State of Utah
• $60 (Utah only CHL)
• $75 (Utah and Oregon CHLs)
|This 4-hour course is the starting point for educating yourself in firearms safety and defensive use of the handgun, and meets Utah CHL requirements. It will give you a better understanding of the handgun, its safe handling and the law as it applies to its carriage and use in defending yourself. Download flyer. (PDF)|
Basic Handgun Skill Development
one-day class is the starting point for the Public Safety Training
Center’s handgun skills curriculum. It requires no prior handgun
knowledge or experience. Understanding the principles of basic firearms
safety is emphasized throughout PST 101 -- in a classroom lecture and
on the range. The fundamentals of marksmanship are a focus of the
class, in both dry- and live-fire exercises.|
Classes are scheduled each month on selected Saturdays or Sundays, beginning at 9 a.m. Though completion of this class satisfies the statute requirements for application for an Oregon concealed handgun license, it is strongly recommended that the student seek additional training in Oregon’s Use of Force laws, presented in PST 100. Download flyer. (PDF)
Accelerated Basic Pistol
course is intended for graduates of PST 101 (or students who wish to
bypass PST 101) and who wish to continue their training and achieve
entrance to PST 102. Picking up where we finished in 101, this class
introduces some basic defensive-handgun skills. This is "102 prep." Prerequisites
include both prior training and an entrance exam. This class requires
passing PST 101 or an Instructor Waiver. The entrance exam is a
live-fire evaluation of your gun handling and basic marksmanship skill.
There is no additional fee or appointment necessary to take this test.
Though completion of this class satisfies the statute requirements for
application for an Oregon concealed handgun license, it is strongly recommended that the student seek additional training in Oregon's Use of Force laws, presented in PST 100.|
Defensive Handgun Skill Development
intensive 2-day course (minimum 16 hours) is the starting point for
realistic self-defense preparedness. If you keep or carry a handgun for
defensive purposes, you need this training. You will learn the
professional attitudes and personal habits needed to keep you safe --
as well as gain a unique understanding of some of the legal and
personal responsibilities you assume as a gun owner. You will learn to
safely and efficiently draw from concealment, re-holster, reload and
clear malfunctions. You will increase accuracy and speed through
coached and supervised systematic, repetitive drills. You will develop
your ability to safely operate your handgun with control, precision and
speed. Download flyer. (PDF)|
Advanced Defensive Handgun Skill
intensive 2-day course (minimum 16 hours) continues the development of
defensive handgun skills begun in PST 102 — and introduces new
techniques. You will learn to: draw your handgun from concealment with
increased speed and accuracy; shoot while moving and turning; engage
moving targets; shoot from alternative positions; use cover to protect
yourself; engage multiple targets; shoot one-handed; and effectively
use index (unsighted) firing. The focus of this class is the mindset,
skills, tactics and techniques that are essential in winning a
lethal-force confrontation. Download flyer. (PDF)|
Share this page