News Release from: Clackamas Co. Sheriff's Office
Posted: Monday, August 14, 2017, 10:44 a.m.
- Seat Belt Use in 2016 -- Use Rates in the States and Territories
- ODOT Crash Analysis
- Text of Oregon House Bill 3404
- 'Click It or Ticket' logo
Starting Monday, Aug. 21, the Clackamas County Sheriff's Office will join agencies throughout Oregon in a two-week "safety blitz" to enforce and educate the public about safety-belt and child-seat laws -- including a newly passed law increasing safety for children under age 2.
The "Oregon Safety Belt Overtime Enforcement Program" -- set for Aug. 21 through Sept. 3 -- will use federally funded overtime to allow for increased traffic enforcement, with a focus on seat belts, child restraints, distracted driving, and excessive speed.
This is a statewide effort organized by the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT), in partnership with the Oregon State Sheriffs' Association (OSSA) and Oregon State Police (OSP).
THE STATS: SAFETY BELTS AND CHILD SEATS SAVE LIVES
ODOT crash data for 2015 shows lack of safety-belt or child-restraint use was a factor in 79 of a total 289 (or 35% of) motor vehicle occupant fatalities.
Motor-vehicle crashes are the leading nationwide cause of death for children ages 1-12. In 2015, 1,353 children under age 9 were injured in Oregon traffic crashes; six children died.
It's estimated that car seats may increase crash survival by 71% for infants under 1 year old, and by up to 59% for toddlers ages 1-4. And booster seats may reduce the chance of nonfatal injury among 4- to 8-year-olds by 45% compared to safety belts used alone.
Safety belts, used correctly, can reduce the risk of major crash injury or death by up to 65%. ODOT estimates that at least half of those who died unbelted in 2015 -- 40 persons -- could have been saved if everyone used safety belts and child-safety systems on every trip.
A NEW CHILD-SAFETY LAW
A new Oregon law for children under age 2 requires they use a child seat with harness in a rear-facing position, unless the child turned 1 year of age prior to May 26, 2017.
A child over age 2 (or who turned 1 year of age prior to May 26, 2017) must continue to ride in a car seat with harness or in a booster until they reach age 8 or 4'9" in height and the adult belt fits them correctly.
The new law -- which extends the rear-facing requirement from the previous age 1 to age 2 -- will better protect the child's head, neck and spine from potential crash injuries.
HELP WITH CHILD CAR SEATS
For help selecting or installing car seats, consult the seat manufacturer's instructions, your vehicle owner's manual, or visit a local child-seat fitting station listed on Oregon Impact's website.
Many car-seat fitting stations will host special events during National Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 17-23 -- with Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians on hand to assist families with selection and use of car seats and boosters.
Additional resources are linked above.
Sergeant Brian Jensen
Office of Public Information
Clackamas County Sheriff's Office