Services Departments Government

How To Open A Restaurant

Opening a restaurant is a major undertaking, and we look forward to working with you on your new venture. Per Oregon Revised Statute 624.020, you must obtain a food service license to operate a restaurant or food service facility. Operating a food service facility without a valid restaurant license is illegal in the State of Oregon. There are 4 possible scenarios for getting a restaurant license:

Scenario 1: Purchase an existing licensed food service facility, keeping the same menu and NOT remodeling

  1. Submit a completed restaurant license application to our office
  2. Pay restaurant licensing fee

Scenario 2: Purchase an existing licensed food service facility, changing the menu (e.g. deli to pizza) or remodeling

  1. Submit a completed restaurant license application with a description of the remodeling and/or a copy of the new menu to our office.
  2. Pay restaurant licensing fee.
  3. Review the plan review packet.

Our office will contact you to inform you if a plan review is applicable to you. Plan review fees are listed on the fee schedule. A plan review can take up to ten working days after your plan materials are submitted.

Scenario 3: Purchase a food service facility that has been closed for at least six months

  1. Submit a completed restaurant license application and a copy of your menu to our office.
  2. Pay restaurant licensing fee.

Depending on the history of the facility, a plan review may be required. Factors considered when determining if a plan review is required include the history of structural or equipment problems, as well as significant menu/equipment changes. Our office will contact you to inform you if a plan review is applicable to you. A plan review can take up to 10 working days after your plan materials are submitted.

Scenario 4: Building a new restaurant

  1. Fill out a plan review application and submit it to our office with the required materials.
  2. Pay the applicable plan review fee. A plan review can take up to ten working days.
  3. Complete and submit a restaurant license application and pay restaurant license fee.
  4. Schedule a final opening inspection with at least seven days notice. The license application and fee must be submitted to our office before the final opening inspection can be completed.
  5. You may only begin serving food once you have passed the opening inspection.
  6. Your first scored inspection will occur within 30 days of opening.

 

All Restaurant Employees Must Obtain a Food Handlers Card

Your employees must obtain food handlers cards within 30 days. Go to ORFoodHandlers.com to take the online test in multiple languages; all you need is an e-mail address, computer, printer, debit/credit card, and $10. Tests can also be taken in person. Call our office for hours of operation and directions if needed.

Share this page

Public Services Building

Public Health

Phone number 503-742-5300
Address 2051 Kaen Road
Suite 367
Oregon City, OR 97045
map
Hours M–Th
7 a.m. to 6 p.m.