Civil Rights

Clackamas County is committed to the principles of non-discrimination, civil rights and equal opportunity. They are foundational in its business practices. Evidence of our commitment can be seen in the following compliance plans.

Please send any questions to

  • Translation, interpretation and hearing accommodations
    To ensure equal access, Clackamas County provides accommodations and auxiliary aids. For these services, contact the department you need and tell them you need an interpreter or translated materials.
  • Service Animals
    State and Federal law require service animals to be allowed in places open to the public such as the public areas within county buildings. Animals that are not service animals are generally not allowed in county buildings.
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Plan (EEOP)
    Equal employment opportunity (EEO) means freedom from discrimination on the basis of protected classes such as race, color, religion, national origin, age, disability, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, veteran status, or any other characteristic protected under federal or state law.
  • Title II ADA Transition Plan
    To prohibit discrimination on the basis of disability, the Federal government enacted the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA). Title II of the ADA pertains to state and local governments and requires that persons with disabilities be provided with an equal opportunity to benefit from government programs, services and activities.
  • Title VI Compliance Plan
    Title VI prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, and national origin in programs and activities receiving federal financial assistance.