Coronavirus (COVID-19) in Clackamas County READ MORE

May 19, 2020 Primary Election

Office Update

In an effort to protect public health and our own employees during the current COVID-19 pandemic, the Elections Division is closed to the public, effective until at least April 6.

Election staff is still working to maintain voter registrations and prepare for the Primary election.

Important Dates

April 3 Ballots mailed to military and overseas voters
April 20 Ballots mailed to out of state voters
April 28

Voter registration / Party change deadline

Please note: All registered voters will receive a ballot based on their political party affiliation as of the registration deadline.  

Major political parties in Oregon hold closed primary elections to nominate candidates to represent them in general elections.  In a closed party primary, only voters registered with the party can participate in its primary.  

If you wish to vote for the Democratic Party candidates or the Republican Party candidates in the May Primary, you must be registered with one of those parties by the voter registration deadline.

If you are registered with a minor party or not affiliated with any political party, you will be eligible to vote only on nonpartisan offices and ballot measures.

April 29 Ballots mailed to voters / Drop Sites open
May 19 Election Day
June 2 Deadline to resolve ballot challenges

Filed Candidates

Please note: There are some positions that will be up for election in May 2020 for which the Secretary of State is the filing officer, including District Attorney and Judge of the Circuit Court.  For more information on these positions, please contact the State Elections Division.

Below is a list of positions for which Clackamas County is the filing officer. 

Board of County Commissioners
Position 1 (Chair)
   Jim Bernard
   Tootie Smith
Position 3    
   Martha Schrader
   Bill Osburn
   Evan Geier
Position 4    
   Ken Humberston
   Mark Shull
   Breeauna Sagdal
County Sheriff    
   Angela Brandenburg
   Lynn Schoenfeld
   Brian Jensen
   Roger Edwards


The District Attorney is not listed because the State is the filing officer for district attorneys who are state employees.

Precinct Committee Person (PCP) Information

2020 Precinct Committee Person

  PCP Candidates - FILING CLOSED 3/10/20

  Filing Lists:  Republican  / Democratic 


Write-in Candidate Filings - Deadline to file: May 19, 2020 8 pm

   Write-in Candidate Declaration - SEL105D 

   Write-in Candidate Nomination - SEL105N

  • Member of stated party at least 180 days prior to the primary election. (November 21, 2019)
  • Write-in votes will only be tallied if declaration or nomination forms have been filed by the deadline.
  • A minimum of 3 votes is required to be elected.
  • For Nominations: Nominator and candidate must be a member of the same party and the same State Representative district, within the same county.

Find your Precinct here: Interactive Clackamas County Precinct Map










1710 Red Soils Court, Suite 100 Oregon City, OR 97045

Office Hours:

Monday to Thursday: 8:30 5 p.m.

Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Election Day: 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.