Clackamas, Marion county commissioners to select House District 39 replacement

Main Content

Following the resignation of State Rep. Christine Drazan, Clackamas County and Marion County commissioners will hold a joint session on Monday, Feb. 7, to interview candidates and select a replacement for the open House District 39 position.

Oregon law requires that a legislative vacancy be filled by county commissioners representing the district in which the vacancy exists. House District 39 overwhelmingly falls within Clackamas County, but a small pocket extends into Marion County.

Finalists were selected by the local Republican Party (as deemed by state law), since Drazan belongs to that party. The three finalists are:

  • Paul Carlson
  • Donnie Hedlind
  • James Hieb 

The person selected will fill the remainder of Drazan’s term, which runs through 2022. 

The meeting will be held from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. on Monday, Feb. 7, over Zoom. The public is welcome to virtually attend the proceedings over Zoom, and provide comments during the designated time. 

The meeting will also be broadcast live on the county’s YouTube channel and Clackamas County Government Channel.