To enter into a Domestic Partnership, a Domestic Partnership Declaration must be registered with a County Clerk in the State of Oregon. The Domestic Partnership Declaration is a legal form and should be completed electronically, typed or in black or dark blue ink and should not be altered. The legal form is 8 1/2 inches by 14 inches and has a gray stripe along the left-hand side. All sections of the form need to be completed unless otherwise specified in the instructions. The forms must be signed by both individuals entering into the domestic partnership. Signatures must be acknowledged by a Notary Public. Completed, signed, and notarized forms must be signed and registered by a County Clerk to be valid.
The County Clerk registers the form in a Domestic Partnership Registry. A copy of the form, along with a "Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership," can be provided to the partners in person or by mail. Contact your County Clerk's office to get information about associated fees.
Domestic Partnership: the civil contract entered into in person between two individuals of the same sex who are at least 18 years of age, who are otherwise capable, and at least one of which is a resident of Oregon.
Partner: an individual joined in a domestic partnership.
A Domestic Partnership is prohibited and void when:
- either party has a partner, wife or husband living at the time of the domestic partnership;
- the parties in the domestic partnership are first cousins or any nearer of kin to each other, whether of the whole or half blood or adoption, computing by the rules of the civil law;
- either party is incapable of making the civil contract or consenting to the contract for want of legal age or sufficient understanding; and/or,
- the consent of either party is obtained by force or fraud, the domestic partnership is void from the time it is so declared by a judgment of a court having jurisdiction of the domestic partnership.
NOTE: When parties are first cousins by adoption only, the domestic partnership is not prohibited or void.
Frequently Asked Questions
A Domestic Partnership in Oregon is a civil contract entered into by two individuals of the same sex, who are at least 18 years of age, are otherwise eligible to enter the contract, and at least one of whom is a resident of Oregon.
House Bill 2007, also known as the Oregon Family Fairness Act, passed by the 2007 Oregon Legislature established a process for declaring Domestic Partnerships in Oregon.32061
A same sex couple, wishing to register as a legally recognized domestic partnership, can complete and file a Declaration of Domestic Partnership with their local County Clerk. There are thirty-six County Clerk offices in the State of Oregon.32061
House Bill 2007, also known as the Oregon Family Fairness Act, was passed by the Oregon Legislature in 2007. This bill established a Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership. Upon registering the Declaration of Domestic Partnership, the partners will receive a Certificate of Domestic Partnership. This certificate is a commemorative certificate that is suitable for display featuring an attractive design with calligraphy-like font, high quality paper, and a State of Oregon seal. The Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership is not a legal document.32061
No. Only one individual has to be an Oregon resident. State of residence is indicated on the form.32061
The Declaration of Domestic Partnership forms are available at the Clackamas County Clerk-Recording office, located at 1710 Red Soils Ct, Suite 110, Oregon City, OR 97045.
The Department of Human Services, Center for Health Statistics, has the formavailable on their web site along with instructions for completing the forms. (NOTE: Forms printed from the web must be printed on legal sized paper - 8.5 inches by 14 inches. A gray stripe down the left hand side of the form is required to show that it is the standard approved form.)
You can order the form via mail or email from:
Center for Health Statistics
Attn: Mary Ann Jensen
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 225
Portland, OR 97232
Please specify that you are ordering a Declaration of Domestic Partnership form, include your mailing address and day time phone number in correspondence.32061
This is a legal form and it must be completed in black or dark blue ink and should not be altered. Forms can be hand or type written. All sections of the form need to be completed. Please refer to step by step instructions for completing each item. The forms must be signed by both individuals entering into the domestic partnership. Signatures must be acknowledged by a notary public.32061
The forms must be signed by both individuals entering into the domestic partnership. Signatures must be acknowledged by a Notary Public. Completed, signed, and notarized forms must be signed by a County Clerk to be valid. The County Clerk then registers the form in a Domestic Partnership Registry and transmits the original to the State Registrar of Vital Records. A copy of the completed form along with a "Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership" will be given to the partners.32061
Yes, the fee is $60 (cash, certified check or money order only).32061
Contact your local County Clerk's office to get information on completing the form and associated fees. Remember that the form needs to be notarized, so make sure a notary is available at the County Clerk's office. Clackamas County doesn't notarize documents.32061
No, you can register the form at any Oregon County Clerk's office.32061
The County Clerk will provide you a copy of the form after it is registered. You will also receive a Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership.32061
What happens to the original Declaration of Domestic Partnership once it is filed with the County Clerk?
Every County Clerk registering Declaration of Domestic Partnership forms will preserve a copy of the form in their records. Upon doing so, Clerks will send the original forms completed during the preceding month to the Center for Health Statistics on or before the 10th day of each calendar month.32061
Declaration of Domestic Partnerships will be public records in County Clerk offices. The original forms forwarded by the County Clerk for filing with the Center for Health Statistics are vital records. Access to the vital record maintained by the Center for Health Statistics will be restricted for 50 years after the event, available only to family members and their legal representatives, persons or organizations with a personal or property right.32061
Certified copies of the Declaration of Domestic Partnership can be ordered from the County Clerk in the county where your Domestic Partnership is registered or from the Center for Health Statistics, also known as Oregon Vital Records. Clackamas County's fees related to certified copies are $0.25 per copy, $3.75 per certification, and $3.75 per search if required to locate the record. The Clackamas County Clerks office accepts checks, money orders, and cash. Please, do not send cash through the mail.
When ordering certified copies from Oregon Vital Records, only family members, their legal representatives, or persons or organizations with a personal or property right can order certified copies. Orders will be taken after January 1,2008. Certified copies of the Declaration can be issued after the original completed forms are filed with the Center for Health Statistics. Original forms completed during the preceding month are sent to the Center for Health Statistics on or before the 10th day of each calendar month. Once at the Center for Health Statistics, the records must be registered and entered into the vital records system. Therefore, it may take up to six weeks from the date of registration of the Declaration at the county for the Center for Health Statistics to have the record available for issuance of certified copies.
The cost is $20 for a first copy and $15 for each additional copy ordered at the same time.
Certified copies can be ordered via mail, internet, phone, in person or fax.
Oregon Vital Records
800 NE Oregon St., Suite 205 Portland, OR 97232-2162
Mail orders to:
Oregon Vital Records P.O. Box 14050
Portland, Oregon 97293-0050
Phone orders: 971-673-1190
Fax orders: 971-673-1203
Internet orders: www.vitalchek.com