Emergency Medical Services Council

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) in Clackamas County are provided under contract by American Medical Response (AMR) and local fire agencies throughout the county.

AMR and fire agencies respond 24/7 to 9-1-1 calls with Advanced Life Support paramedics and transports to four local area hospitals and two Level 1 trauma centers in the metro area.

The Clackamas County Public Health Division is responsible for regulatory oversight, ongoing quality improvement initiatives and administration of the EMS Council that provides strategic policy direction to the Board of County Commissioners.

Emergency Medical Services Council

The Emergency Medical Services Council (EMSC) advises commissioners and the County Health, Housing and Human Services Department in matters relating to emergency medical response and ambulance services.

Upcoming meetings

The EMSC meets quarterly on the third Tuesday of January, April, July, and October from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. For more information, please contact Philip Mason-Joyner, Public Health Operations Manager at pmason@clackamas.us or 503-742-5956.

EMSC membership

  • William Conway,  Chair,  Clackamas County Fire District 1
  • Craig Warden, M.D.,Medical Director for EMS Provider Agency
  • Ritu Sahni, M.D. EMS Medical Director
  • Richard Newton, Basic Life Support EMT  in Clackamas County
  • Vince Stafford, Clackamas County Fire Defense Board
  • Joe Kofoed, M.D., Emergency  Physician in Clackamas County
  • Sue Scobert, Representative of PSAP in Clackamas County
  • Sarah Eckman, County Representative
  • Matt Dale, Advanced Life Support Paramedic in Clackamas County
  • Jason Mahle, Commercial Ambulance Provider (AMR)  
  • Phil Moyer, Resident of Clackamas County
  • Steve Dehart, City Representative

Membership as of January 2019

Council minutes