Tobacco Prevention and Education Program

Clackamas County Tobacco Fact Sheet Smoke Free Oregon

Did you know?

  • The legal age of sales of tobacco products including e-cigarettes in Oregon has been raised from 18 to 21 years old. More information below.
  • E-cigarettes are considered similar to tobacco under Oregon's Indoor Clean Air Act, so they are not allowed to be used in workplaces.
  • Smoking is prohibited in motor vehicles when a person under the age of 18 is present.
  • E-cigarettes and e-liquid are unregulated products containing unknown chemicals and unknown amounts of nicotine, the addictive chemical that makes quitting very difficult.

Helping people quit tobacco

The Oregon Tobacco Quit Line helps you create a quit plan to get ready, take action and live tobacco-free.  Quit Coaches, many of whom are former smokers, never pressure you to quit before you're ready.  They know how hard it is to change old habits but they also know that with the right tools and support, it is possible to quit for good

The Oregon Quit Line

  • English: 1-800-QUIT-NOW (1-800-784-8669) or QUIT NOW
  • Spanish: 1-855-DEJELO-YA (1-855.-35356-92) or DEJARLO AHORA
  • TTY 1-877-777-6534

Preventing youth tobacco use

For more information on the legal sales age of 21, including how to comply with the new law, visit Oregon Health Authority.

We partner with community members of all ages to work on countering tobacco marketing and reducing tobacco use among youth. Contact us for information on getting involved!

Smoke-free living

The Oregon Smoke-free Workplace Law requires nearly all indoor workplaces to be completely smoke-free and to not allow the use of inhalant delivery systems such as e-cigarettes. In addition, these restriction apply to areas within 10 feet of doorways, windows and ventilation intakes.

If your business needs new decals that include the 2016 vaping restriction, you may contact Scott France at 503-742-5340 or print your own signs.

If you observe or note a possible violation of the law, you can report it to the Oregon Public Health Division for investigation and further action. Report online or call 1-866-621-6107.

Housing

Renters: Are you exposed to unwanted secondhand smoke at home? Find out what you can do!

Landlords: Want to save money in cleaning and maintenance and reduce your risks of fire and liability? It is completely legal to adopt a no-smoking policy for your rentals, and the market is there for you. Three-fourths of renters are looking for a no-smoking unit. Get more info here.

Tobacco-free parks

Tobacco-free parks are becoming the norm everywhere. Estacada, Happy Valley, Lake Oswego, and Wilsonville have tobacco-free parks for their visitors to enjoy. Are your city's parks tobacco-free? Contact us!

Resources

For more information on the Tobacco Prevention Program, please contact Scott France at sfrance@clackamas.us or 503-742-5340