Taxing District Explanation

Clackamas County

The elected Clackamas County Board of County Commissioners govern the County Offices and there are several different county levies dedicated to certain services as shown below:

  • County Public Safety - Preserves life, upholds the law, prevents crime, holds offenders accountable, and promotes safety in Clackamas County
  • Enhanced Law Enforcement - Provide enhanced law enforcement services by contact with the Clackamas County Sheriff. The district is also authorized to construct, maintain and operate appropriate service facilities to fulfill that purpose.
  • Library - The library district was organized under provisions of ORS Chapter 451 to provide financial support to the library service providers of Clackamas County in order to operate city libraries.
  • County Rural/City - The county general fund receives revenue from the permanent rates established under Measure 50 by service area. Incorporated Clackamas County and Rural Clackamas County. Incorporated Clackamas County consists of all city boundaries except the following: Barlow, Estacada, Johnson City and Rivergrove. Clackamas County Rural contains the rest of the county outside the incorporated areas.


16 cities are within the incorporated boundary of Clackamas County.


There are 3 community colleges within the County of Clackamas, and the Mt Hood and Portland Community Colleges stretch across other counties. Clackamas Community College is wholly within Clackamas County

Education service districts (ESD)

There are 5 ESD's in Clackamas County that service K-12 school districts.

The purpose of ESD's is to develop, strengthen, and maintain both formal and informal channels of communication with local school districts, the Oregon Department of Education, and other external educational and governmental agencies. The ESD Board of Directors is also the boundary board for education districts, overseen by the Oregon Dept. of Education.

The Clackamas ESD serves teachers and students in 10 school districts in Clackamas County – a geographic area of 1,879 square miles. As one of Oregon's 19 ESDs, Clackamas ESD works to provide our county's school districts with a wide variety of educational programs and services, many of which are too costly or too limited in demand for a single location.

Fire districts

Providing fire protection, fire prevention, emergency medical services and rescue operations to the communities they serve.


  • Vector Control - Responsible for the prevention, control or eradication of public health vectors and vector habitats with the district and for control of predatory animals with the district. Also protects health and enhances livability through control of the rat and mosquito populations, and serves as a resource for addressing public health vector problems. Programs include Rodent Control, Mosquito Control and Code Enforcement, which enforces some specific county and city municipal codes.
  • TriMet Transportation - TriMet provides bus, light rail and commuter rail service in the Portland, Oregon, region. Their transportation options connect people with their community, while easing traffic congestion and reducing air pollution—making our region a better place to live. TriMet currently does not levy any property tax in the three regional counties, Clackamas, Multnomah and Washington.
  • Clackamas County Extension and 4-H Service District - This district is not governed by Clackamas County but was organized under provisions of ORS Chapter 451 to provide financing to Oregon State University educational agricultural extension programs in Clackamas County.
  • Clackamas County Soil and Conservation - Oregon's Soil and Water Conservation Districts provide technical assistance, educational outreach, and other conservation services to landowners, managers, and citizens. The district provides leadership in delivery of state water quality programs, watershed enhancement programs, and local conservation efforts that contribute to the Oregon Plan for Salmon and Watersheds. The Districts coordinate and partner with state and federal natural resource agencies, private organizations, and local governments.

Service districts

Service districts are organized under ORS 451, Clackamas County Service Distrcit No. 1, and WES-Water Environment Service were organized to construct and operate sanitary sewer systems, and to serve those unincorporated areas which drain into the lower Tualatin River and the Oswego Lake Basin within the county's boundaries.

Clackamas County Service District 5 constructs and operates facilities for lighting of streets and highways in a particular area of Clackamas County.

Service districts can be organized under varying ORS Chapters and they provide various services.

Metro Service District was formed in the 1950's under ORS 268 and serves more than 1.5 million people in Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington counties. The agency's boundary encompasses Portland, Oregon and 24 other cities from the Columbia River in the north to the bend of the Willamette River near Wilsonville, and from the foothills of the Coast Range near Forest Grove to the banks of the Sandy River at Troutdale. The government leaders manage the urban growth boundary and provide region-wide planning and coordination to manage growth, infrastructure and development issues that cross jurisdictional boundaries. They protect farms and forests from urbanization and to provide services that are regional in nature and manage 17,000 acres of parks, trails and natural areas. Metro runs the Oregon Zoo, Oregon Convention Center, Portland Expo Center and Portland's 5 Centers for the Arts. Metro oversees the region's solid waste system working with communities and industry partners to reduce waste in a cost effective manner.

Urban renewal

Clackamas County Development Agency was organized in December 1977 under the provisions of ORS Chapter 457 as the urban renewal of the county responsible for implementing public improvement programs in the vicinity of the Clackamas Town Center Shopping Mall and in other industrial and recreations areas of the county.

The city urban renewal agencies are: Canby, Gladstone, Estacada, Lake Oswego, Milwaukie, Molalla, Oregon City, Portland, Sandy, and Wilsonville.

Water districts

Water districts provide wastewater collection & treatment and water quality enhancement services for Clackamas County communities.

Please contact the Assessor's Office for more details

List of cities in Clackamas County

  • Barlow
  • Canby
  • Estacada
  • Gladstone
  • Happy Valley
  • Johnson City
  • Lake Oswego
  • Milwaukie
  • Molalla
  • Oregon City
  • Portland
  • Rivergrove
  • Sandy
  • Tualatin
  • West Linn
  • Wilsonville

Back to top